EqualLogic MPIO in vSphere

 Ok, this post is more of a reminder for myself so I don’t have to google the command each time.

Do this before attaching lun’s to the host:

esxcli nmp satp setdefaultpsp –psp VMW_PSP_RR –satp VMW_SATP_EQL

It will put round robin as the default path policy to round robin, saves you lot of time 🙂

    • Scott c
    • April 26th, 2010

    I tried to set this on my hosts but received the error message:

    Errors:
    Found Extra non-parameter arguments at the end of input: ‘-psp’ ‘VMW_PSP_RR’ ‘-satp’ ‘VMW_SATP_EQL’
    Missing required parameter –psp
    Missing required parameter –satp

    This is what I entered:
    esxcli nmp satp setdefaultpsp -psp VMW_PSP_RR -satp VMW_SATP_EQL

    • patrickvanbeek
    • April 26th, 2010

    I think that is because the character “-” before psp and satp is wrong.
    The one I have is a longer dash the the normal dash you will type (same happens in word uses if you type — , it will create a longer dash)
    So I guess the formatting got screwed up.

    I’ll change it, thanks for the info!

      • Scott c
      • April 26th, 2010

      Yup you are right, it changed it in my post too.

    • Scott c
    • April 26th, 2010

    Scott c :
    I tried to set this on my hosts but received the error message:
    Errors:
    Found Extra non-parameter arguments at the end of input: ‘-psp’ ‘VMW_PSP_RR’ ‘-satp’ ‘VMW_SATP_EQL’
    Missing required parameter –psp
    Missing required parameter –satp
    This is what I entered:
    esxcli nmp satp setdefaultpsp -psp VMW_PSP_RR -satp VMW_SATP_EQL

    I got it to work by using –psp and –satp instead of the single dash.

    Thanks for the post!

  1. Since Dell released the EqualLogic Multipathing Extension Module (EqualLogic MEM) I would definitely recommend people use that instead of round-robin.

    Some of the benefits over VMware’s functionality:
    Automatic connection management
    Automatic load balancing across multiple active paths
    Increased bandwidth
    Reduced network latency

    It’s easy to depoy (via VUM or vMA) to your hosts. I deployed version 1.1 via VUM, and it was surprisingly easy.

      • patrickvanbeek
      • March 7th, 2012

      Martijn, I agree 100%, the setup script will set the round-robin policy and it is indeed easy to deploy.

  1. May 24th, 2010

Leave a Reply

